how happy communities work

We’re taking applications on an ongoing basis. The first 20 Happy Communities applications received each month that meet the entry criteria will be up for public vote.

We are currently accepting applications for August, 2014.

Awarding the grants

You are invited to vote on a monthly basis for the community group you think should receive a grant.

The three groups with the highest number of votes will receive $1,000 each. The remaining groups will receive $200 each.

Voting periods

Voting runs for one month starting from the first Monday of each month, and closing on the last Friday of each month. Check out the timeline below for more information.

Entry month Public voting commences Public voting closes
January Monday 6th January  Friday 31st January
February Monday 3rd February  Friday 28th February
March Monday 3rd March Friday 28th March
April Monday 7th April Friday 25th April
May Monday 5th May Friday 30th May
June Monday 2nd June Friday 27th June
July Monday 7th July Friday 25th July
August Monday 4th August Friday 29th August
September Monday 1st September Friday 26th September
October Monday 6th October Friday 31st October
November Monday 3rd November Friday 28th November
December Monday 1st Decmber Friday 26th December

Public voting

When applying, you’ll be asked to supply a description of your community group. This is what the public will see when casting their vote, so make sure it showcases your group in its best light! The public can only vote for their favourite community group once during each voting period.

Before you apply, please check that your community groups meets the entry criteria.

vote now


Vote for a community group.

grant applications


Enter your local community group.

Bankwest SWIFT code: BKWAAU6P | Find your BSB by logging into Online Banking.

© 2016 Copyright Bankwest, a division of Commonwealth Bank of Australia (Bankwest) ABN 48 123 123 124 AFSL / Australian credit licence 234945. All rights reserved. To use this Website, you are required to read the Financial Services Guide (which you agree to be provided by accessing the link). Bankwest is a division of Commonwealth Bank of Australia, which is the product issuer unless otherwise stated. Rates stated are subject to change without notice. Any advice given does not take into account your objectives, financial situation or needs so please consider whether it is appropriate for you. For deposit and payment products, please ensure you read and consider the Product Disclosure Statement (which you agree to be provided through this link) before making any decision about the product(s). For lending products, lending criteria and fees and charges apply. Terms and conditions apply and are available on request.